Meeting to brainstorm on how to jumpstart a program for faculty and clinician development in the field of Medical Physics

Location / Venue: 

Institute of Nuclear Science & Technology, University of Nairobi

Group Photo of Participants at the Medical Physics Meeting, which was brain storming on how to jumpstart a program for faculty and clinician development in the field, in line with sustainable support of the vision embodied in the BIG FOUR Agenda, on 12th December 2018.

Front row from right to left: - Prof. Lavi Muia (Professor of Physics, Technical University of Kenya), Ms Pauline Mulongo (Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board), Prof. Jacob Van Dyke (Western University in Canada, and Founder and President of Medical Physics for World Benefit), Prof. Michael Gatari (Director, INST, UoN), Mr, Joseph Maina (CEO/Secretary, Radiation Protection Board)

Back row from left to right: - Mr. Fredrick Asige (Medical Physicist and Head Cancer Center, The Nairobi Hospital), Ms Mary Karuiru (Secretary, INST), Dr. Ian Kaniu (Lecturer, Department of Physics, UoN), Mr. Evans Ojwak Okwak (Medical Physicist, Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital, Eldoret), Mr. Philip K. Ndonye (Medical Physicist, The Nairobi Hospital), Mr. Ejidio Ndungu Ngigi (Medical Physicist, Kenyatta National Hospital), Dr. Bernard M. Ndungu (Medical Doctor and Lecturer, Department of Human Anatomy, UoN), Prof. Julius Oyugi (Principal’s Office, College of Health Sciences, UoN) and Ms Lindah K. Kiriinya (Meeting Secretary and MSc Student, INST)


The Institute of Nuclear Science & Technology (INST) hosted a stakeholder, involved in Medical Physics through teaching and applications, on 11th December 2018. It was chaired by Prof. Gatari, Director INST. The following personnel represented their respective institutions:

  1. Mr. Evans Ojwak Okwak (Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital) 
  2. Mr. Joseph Maina (Radiation Protection Board)
  3. Prof. Julius Oyugi (College of Health Sciences, University of Nairobi (UoN))
  4. Mr. Ejidio Ndungu Ngigi (Kenyatta National Hospital)
  5. Ms Pauline Mulongo (Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board)
  6. Mr. Fredrick Asige (The Nairobi Hospital)
  7. Mr. Philip K. Ndonye (The Nairobi Hospital)
  8. Doctor Bernard Ndungu (Department of Human Anatomy, UoN)
  9. Dr. Ian Kaniu (Department of Physics, UoN)
  10. Prof. Lavi Muia (Department of Physics, Technical University of Kenya)
  11. Ms Lindah Kiriinya (INST, UoN) 

The meeting was graced by the presence of Prof. Jacob (Jake) Van Dyk: Professor Emeritus in the Departments of Oncology and Medical Biophysics, Western University, London, Ontario, Canada. He is the former Manager/Head of Physics and Engineering at the London Regional Cancer Program of the London Health Sciences Centre in Ontario, Canada. He is also the President of Medical Physics for World Benefit ( Jake is a highly experienced Medical Physics practitioner, lecture/teacher and author.

After professional discussions, the members agreed on the need to developing a training program that will end up rolling out the required faculty and practitioners in Medical Physics in the effort of easing the current burden in the country’s cancer facilities. It was further agreed that the curriculum should be unified among all institutions in the country following IAEA guidelines and International Standards. The next meeting was scheduled for February 2019.

Prof. Jacob Van Dyk (Jake), Founder and President of Medical Physics for World Benefits discusses, importance and facilitation of Medical Physics Education in University of Nairobi, with the Ag. Deputy Vice Chancellor-Academic Affairs(DVC-AA) and Director, Center for Self Sponsored Programme (CESSP), University of Nairobi (UoN), on 14 December 2018. His was accompanied by Prof. Peter Ngau (Principal, College of Architecture and Engineering) and Prof. Michael Gatari (Director, Institute of Nuclear Science and Technology) on the right of the DVC (left to right respectively) and on the left of the DVC, left to right, are Mr. Michael Mangala (Lecturer. INST), Dr. Harish Jagat Pant (IAEA Expert trainer of Radiotracer Applications (RA) and Head RA Section at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, India) and Prof. Jake

Expiry Date: 
Wed, 2025-01-29 06:00

Director INST

News and Events

Contact Us

Mr. Simion Bartilol

P. O. Box 30197 - 00100 Nairobi, Kenya

Off Harry Thuku Road near Engineering Workshops

Tel: 254 (020) 3318262 Ext.28483

Fax: 254 (020) 2245566




Find Us:

Community Outreach

Media Center

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi